2017 Texas Society of Architects Design Award Winners

Congratulations to KinneyMorrow Architecture and Lake Flato architects, winners of the 2017 TSA Design Award. Always a pleasure photographing their work!

TSA announced the 2017 Design Award winners, as selected by David Miller, FAIA, Julie Snow, FAIA, and Andy Tinucci, AIA, last Thursday and Friday in Austin. The distinguished jury deliberated over 313 projects before selecting 11 to honor.  Their projects will be featured in the September/October issue of Texas Architect.

Midtown Arts and Theater Center, Houston, Lake|Flato Architects

“It’s an institutional project that really tries to expand the public street into the project. The idea that the theater lobby is actually a covered internal space to the building but still an exterior space, a public space, is really an exceptional concept.” —Andy Tinucci, AIA

Kane Street Office, KinneyMorrow Architects

“It’s an adaptive reuse project and a preservation project, but an atypical one, an unconventional one. Not preserving a canonical historical structure, but just preserving a lovely old building and adaptively reusing it in an incredibly clever way.” —Andy Tinucci, AIA

Source: https://txamagazine.org/2017/05/17/2017-de...